A Page Lifter for my Planner

One of the things that always bugged me about my ring bound planner – currently an A5 Holborn Zip Filofax – was that when I closed it, the pages often got stuck behind the rings.

I had tried to avoid the issue as much as possible by putting plastic envelopes etc at the back of the filofax and that seemed to help a little, but it wasn’t until I saw this video by Josh LaPorte that I really understood that there was a solution for my binder woes!

So, after I watched Josh’s video and my own little ‘AHA’ moment, I went online to find some of my own. First I tried the timesystem one’s that Josh mentioned in the video, only to discover that they wanted $135 shipping for a $6 parcel (um, no thanks!).. I searched and searched to no avail.. and eventually just decided to make my own!

IMG_1262

They are MUCH prettier than the timesaver ones (if I do say so myself!) and work perfectly.

Make Your Own Page Lifter For Your Planner

What You’ll Need

1 A4, or 2 A5 sheets of heavy cardstock
Scissors
A hole punch
Washi Tape

I repurposed the heavy cardboard backing of an A4 writing pad that I was using for writing letters (Clairefontaine A4 Lined – Fountain pen friendly!) and cut the A4 page in half. I covered the lot in extra wide washi tape, lined up the cardstock with my binder to measure out where the holes needed to be, and then used the hole punch to make extra wide (cloud shaped!) holes.

NB: the page lifter needs to have bigger holes than the rest of your pages if it’s going to effectively bring all your pages to the middle as it’s supposed to.

IMG_1261

It works beautifully, and I can’t believe I haven’t been using something like this forever! A big thank you to Josh for helping me see what was needed to fix this annoying binder issue!

8 comments

  1. This is so cool!! Your page lifters are definitely much cuter for such a functional item! Thank you so much for the tutorial!!

  2. This is exactly the solution I’ve been looking for! And yours are very pretty 🙂 I wonder if you could just use a couple of sheets of acetate (like the flyleaf) and have a clear page lifter?

  3. Thank you, thank you! I just bought my first Kikki K, and while I never had this problem with my Filofax, this is driving me nuts with my beautiful new Kikki…and it’s only the first day! I’ll be making one of these tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

